Newfoundland Cod.

Hi there, I sure hope it is warmer in Newfoundland than here in Ottawa, well today is not too bad, it is -6. I was talking to my father in-law in Florida and he says it is just freezing down there. They have the heat on day and night. Myself and Lee are suppose to be going down somewhere around the end of January….but I don’t know if I want to go and not wear shorts….

I would like to welcome home to my brother Darryl who have just gotten home from being out to Sea. Hopefully we can get together in Florida (too cold yet) or you can come up for a visit.

Anyhow my cooking is back on track now that the tree and all the trimmings are put away. Tonight I am cooking a Codfish Casserole, one of Lee’s favourites, after all it is the fish that him and dad caught this summer….

Makes it taste better knowing it is your own catch….

.

.

.

.

.

Codfish Casserole:

Ingredients:

3 – 4 medium potatoes

bread crumbs

savoury

onions

1/4 cup bitter

salt & pepper

Directions:

Preheat oven to 400ºF.  Cook potatoes and mash while hot.  Add to bread crumbs, savoury, onions(sauted in butter), salt and pepper.  Place dressing in bottom of a greased casserole dish.  Arrange pieces of cod on top of dressing.  Prepare Basic White Sauce(below).Pour over fish and bake at 400ºF for 20 – 25 minutes>  Grated cheese may be sprinkled over top during last 5 minutes of baking.

Basic White Sauce:

Ingredients:

2 tbsp butter or margarine

2 tbsp flour

1/2 tsp salt

few grains pepper

1 cup milk

Directions:

In a saucepan, melt butter or margarine, blend in flour, salt & pepper.  Gradually stir in milk.  Cook, stirring constantly, until thickened.  Makes 1 cup.  For this casserole, recipe may be doubled or tripled.

Household Hint of the Day:

Unclogging shower heads: If your metal shower head is clogged, take it off and boil it in 1/2 cup vinegar and 1 1/2 litres of water for 15 – 2- minutes.  Don’t boil your plastic shower head, instead, soak it in a hot mixture of equal amounts of vinegar and water.

Joke of the Day:

A cabbie picks up a Nun.

She gets into the cab, and notices that the VERY handsome
cab driver won’t stop staring at her. She asks him why he is staring.

He replies: “I have a question to ask you but I don’t want to offend you.”

She answers,”My son, you cannot offend me. When you’re as old as I am
and have been a nun as long as I have, you get a chance to see and hear just about everything. I’m sure that there’s nothing you could say or ask that I would find offensive.”

“Well, I’ve always had a fantasy to have a nun kiss me.”

She responds, “Well, let’s see what we can do about that: #1, you have
to be single and #2, you must be Catholic.”

The cab driver is very excited and says, “Yes, I’m single and Catholic!”

“OK” the nun says. “Pull into the next alley.”

The nun fulfills his fantasy, with a kiss that would make a hooker blush. But when they get back on the road, the cab driver starts crying.

“My dear child,” says the nun, “why are you crying?”

“Forgive me but I’ve sinned. I lied and I must confess, I’m married and I’m Jewish.”

The nun says, “That’s OK. My name is Kevin and I’m going to a Halloween party.”

About Corinne Drover

Hi there, I am 48 years old and I am originally from Newfoundland, However I am now living in Ottawa where my husband is working with a high tech company and I am running a Dj/karaoke business. I love to cook Newfie meals and when I do it is a must to invite all my friends over because I only know how to cook for a large number of people....(that and I love company of course)....All recipes that I post here I have or will try and I will give you my honest opinion on them.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to Newfoundland Cod.

  1. Dianne Drodge/Lockyer says:

    Corinne, I really enjoyed your recipe again . Your recipes are amazing. Anything to do with cod, is awesome. The joke was pricless, I laughed until I neraly cried. HA HA I love your household hints as well, I can always learn something new. Thanks so much for your wonderful blogs, and I will keep checking back for more of your wonderful receipes, and jokes and tips. Keep up the fantasic work. I truly enjoy it!!!!!!!!!
    Take care, ~Dianne~

Leave a comment