Getting close to 2010

It is so hard to believe that another year is just about over.  2009 is a year that I will never forget and I hope that 2010 is much better…..

Last night we had an interesting dinner, I cooked Lobster Corn Chowder, It was my first time cooking it but I must say it was good.

Lobster Corn Chowder:

Ingredients:

1 lobster (about 1 & 1/2 pounds)

2 med potatoes

1 med onion

4 ears of fresh corn or (2 cups frozen corn)

1 quart of half and half

4 tbsp butter

1/8 tsp cayenne pepper

1/4 tsp salt

1/4 tsp ground black pepper

4 quarts water

Directions:

Bring 4 quarts of water to a boil in a 6-8 quart soup pot.  Add lobster, cover, and boial about 10 minutes.  Remove lobster and drain, retaining liquid.  Remove meat and reserve shells and carcas for stock.  Cut lobster meat into large chunks.  Peel and cut potatoes into 1/2 inch dice.  Mince onion(1 cup).  Remove corn kernels from cobs (or drain and set aside thawing corn).  Put reserved lobster shells and carcass in a large saucepan with half and half.  Bring half and half to a boil, lower heat, and simmer for 4 minutes.  Remove from heat and set aside.  Melt butter in a pot.  Add potatoes, onion and corn kernels and saute over medium-low heat until onion is translucent: about 5 minutes.  Strain the lobster cream the vegetables, bring to a simmer and then simmer slowly until potatoes are tender, 6-8 minutes.  Stir in lobster meat, cayenne pepper, 1/4 tsp salt and 1/4 tsp pepper.  Simmer just until lobster meat is hot; about 5 minutes. Ladle into bowls and serve hot with some nice fresh rolls.

Household Hint of the Day:

Bees, hornets and wasps in the house: Hairspray works better than insect sprays on most flying insects.  It stiffens their wings, immediately immobilizing them….

Joke of the day:

A blonde, wanting to earn some money, decided to hire herself out as a handyman-type and started canvassing a wealthy neighborhood. She went to the front door of the first house and asked the owner if he had any jobs for her to do.

“Well, you can paint my porch. How much will you charge?”
The blonde said, “How about 50 dollars?” The man agreed and told her that the paint and ladders that she might need were in the garage. The man’s wife, inside the house, heard the conversation and said to her husband, “Does she realize that the porch goes all the way around the house?”
The man replied, “She should. She was standing on the porch.”

A short time later, the blonde came to the door to collect her money.
“You’re finished already?” he asked. “Yes,” the blonde answered, “and I had paint left over, so I gave it two coats. “Impressed, the man reached in his pocket for the $50. “And by the way,” the blonde added, “that’s not a Porch, it’s a Ferrari.”

About Corinne Drover

Hi there, I am 48 years old and I am originally from Newfoundland, However I am now living in Ottawa where my husband is working with a high tech company and I am running a Dj/karaoke business. I love to cook Newfie meals and when I do it is a must to invite all my friends over because I only know how to cook for a large number of people....(that and I love company of course)....All recipes that I post here I have or will try and I will give you my honest opinion on them.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment