Newfoundland Jam

Good afternoon, I just got out of the kitchen where I have been making Rhubarb Jam….You can’t beat a slice of home made bread and jam….mmmmmmm.I also made a couple of bottles of Partridgeberry Jam for Lee….I think in his mind there is only one good jam anyhow and that is Partridgeberry.   I think Lee is only with me because I have access to these berries…..I will post the recipes I use for my jams at the end of this blog…..

Tonight I am having a nice Rabbit stew….we can now buy rabbits at our local Sobey’s store.  Mind you they cost a fortune but they are a must….If  only they would sell fat pork…..I have to get mine either shipped up from Newfoundland or get lots when I go home.

Rabbit Stew:

Ingredients:

2 rabbits, cleaned

2 cups water

1 onion, chopped

fat pork

3 tsp flour

1 cup turnip, diced

3 carrots, sliced

1 1/2 tsp salt

1/2 cup potato, diced

Directions:

Cut up rabbit.  Sprinkle with flour and brown in pork fat.  Add vegetables and cook for 20 minutes, or until vegetables are cooked.  Thicken gravy.  May be served with dumplings or pastry.

Now for my jams,  well first let me say that i don’t like adding other flavor to my rhubarb jam….like jello and stuff…so mine is pretty simple..

Rhubarb Jam:

Ingredients:

6 cups chopped rhubarb

1 1/2 cups  + 3 tbsp sugar

Directions:

Put rhubarb in large pot:  cover with sugar.  Place on minimum heat on burner.  When liquid reaches about 1 inch in the pot, increase temperature to medium heat.  Once boiled, turn on low, stirring occassinally for 1/2 hour.  Pour into sterilized jars.

Partridgeberry Jam:

Ingredients:

6 cups partridgeberries

3 cups sugar (taste and see if sweet enough, if not add a little more sugar)

Directions:

Cook berries in about 2 cups of water or enough to keep pot from burning.  After adding sugar, cook quickly for 15 minutes.  Put into sterilized jars.

Household Hint of the Day:

Onion smell on hands: To remove the onion smell from your hands carefully run your fingers along the flat part of the knife blade while the tap water is pouring over both the knife and your hands.  This also works with garlic.  Rubbing your hands with dry mustard will also get rid of onion and garlic odors.

Joke of the Day:

You remember the Original Hollywood Squares and its comics, this may
bring a tear to your eyes. These great questions and answers are from
the days when ‘Hollywood Squares’ game show responses were spontaneous
and clever, not scripted and (often) dull, as they are now. Peter
Marshall was the host asking the questions, of course.

Q. Do female frogs croak?
A. Paul Lynde: If you hold their little heads under water long enough.

Q. If you’re going to make a parachute jump, at least how high should you be?
A. Charley Weaver: Three days of steady drinking should do it.

Q. True or False, a pea can last as long as 5,000 years
A. George Gobel: Boy, it sure seems that way sometimes.

Q. You’ve been having trouble going to sleep. Are you probably a man
or a woman?
A. Don Knotts: That’s what’s been keeping me awake.

Q. According to Cosmopolitan, if you meet a stranger at a party and
you think that he is attractive, is it okay to come out and ask him if
he’s married?
A. Rose Marie: No, wait until morning.

Q. Which of your five senses tends to diminish as you get older?
A. Charley Weaver: My sense of decency.

Q. What are ‘Do It,’ ‘I Can Help,’ and ‘I Can’t Get Enough’?
A. George Gobel: I don’t know, but it’s coming from the next apartment.

Q. As you grow older, do you tend to gesture more or less with your
hands while talking?
A. Rose Marie: You ask me one more growing old question Peter, and
I’ll give you a gesture you’ll never forget.

Q. Paul, why do Hell’s Angels wear leather?
A. Paul Lynde: Because chiffon wrinkles too easily.

Q. Charley, you just decided to grow strawberries. Are you going to
get any during the first year?
A. Charley Weaver: Of course not, I’m too busy growing strawberries.

Q. In bowling, what’s a perfect score?
A. Rose Marie: Ralph, the pin boy.

Q. It is considered in bad taste to discuss two subjects at nudist
camps. One is politics, what is the other?
A. Paul Lynde: Tape measures.

Q. During a tornado, are you safer in the bedroom or in the closet?
A. Rose Marie: Unfortunately Peter, I’m always safe in the bedroom.

Q. Can boys join the Camp Fire Girls?
A. Marty Allen: Only after lights out.

Q. When you pat a dog on its head he will wag his tail. What will a goose do?
A. Paul Lynde: Make him bark?

Q. If you were pregnant for two years, what would you give birth to?
A. Paul Lynde: Whatever it is, it would never be afraid of the dark.

Q. According to Ann Landers, is there anything wrong with getting into
the habit of kissing a lot of people?
A. Charley Weaver: It got me out of the army.

Q. It is the most abused and neglected part of your body, what is it?
A. Paul Lynde: Mine may be abused, but it certainly isn’t neglected.

Q. Who stays pregnant for a longer period of time, your wife or your elephant?
A. Paul Lynde: Who told you about my elephant?

Q. When a couple have a baby, who is responsible for its sex?
A. Charley Weaver: I’ll lend him the car, the rest is up to him.

Q. Jackie Gleason recently revealed that he firmly believes in them
and has actually seen them on at least two occasions. What are they?
A. Charley Weaver: His feet.

Q. According to Ann Landers, what are two things you should never do in bed?
A. Paul Lynde: Point and laugh.

Q. Back in the old days, when Great Grandpa put horseradish on his
head, what was he trying to do?
A. George Gobel: Get it in his mouth.

About Corinne Drover

Hi there, I am 48 years old and I am originally from Newfoundland, However I am now living in Ottawa where my husband is working with a high tech company and I am running a Dj/karaoke business. I love to cook Newfie meals and when I do it is a must to invite all my friends over because I only know how to cook for a large number of people....(that and I love company of course)....All recipes that I post here I have or will try and I will give you my honest opinion on them.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Newfoundland Jam

  1. Dianne Drodge/Lockyer says:

    Hi Corinne, another lovely receipe again today, rabbit stew. With the fat pork, how much fat pork would you use????? My husband and son love rabbits, and I think this would be a different way for them to try it and it sounds some good too.

    Keep up the great work,
    Take care, ~Dianne~

  2. Hi Dianne,
    thanks again…..You will only use enough to fry the rabbit in…a few pieces.

Leave a comment